Gå til hovedindhold

Representation in European bodies and organisations

KL - Local Government Denmark is represented in several European bodies and organisations. Read more about KL’s European work.


    KL works to represent the 98 Danish municipalities at the European level in different European bodies and organisations. Often, KL is represented by the nine members of KL’s International Committee, which consists of mayors and councillors.

    The Committee of the Regions is a body within the EU that consists of local and regional elected representatives. The Committee participates in the European legislative process as an advisory body by issuing opinions on matters that affect the local and regional governments. These opinions are taken into consideration by the EU-Commission, the Council, and the European Parliament in the legislative process.

    The Danish delegation consists of 9 members and 9 substitutes in total. Of these, members of KL’s International Committee make up 6 members and 6 substitutes. The remaining members represent Danish Regions.

    The work of the CoR is organized by six commissions that each cover a separate policy area. See the distribution of seats among KL’s members and substitutes below:

    Members of the Committee of the Regions

    • Head of delegation: Erik Flyvholm, member of the COTER and ECON commissions
    • Kirstine Bille, member of the NAT and ECON commissions
    • Jens Ive, member of the ENVE and SEDEC commissions
    • Kasper Glyngø, member of the CIVEX and SEDEC commissions
    • Kirsten Jensen, member of the CIVEX and ENVE commissions
    • Torsten Nielsen, member of the COTER and NAT commissions


    • Mads Sørensen, substitute for Erik Flyvholm
    • Line Krogh Lay, substitute for Kirstine Bille
    • Kasten Søndergaard, substitute for Jens Ive
    • Jens Christian Gjesing, substitute for Kasper Glyngø
    • Anne Madsen, substitute for Kirsten Jensen
    • Henrik Madsen, substitute for Torsten Nielsen

    Here you can find the website of the Committee of the Regions

    The Congress of Local and Regional Authorities (CLRAE) represents local and regional in the Council of Europe. The Congress is responsible for monitoring local and regional democracy, and for promoting local democracy and citizen participation

    CLRAE consists of 318 elected politicians from local and regional authorities across the member states.

    It is made up of two chambers: The Chamber of Local Authorities and Chamber of Regions. These chambers meet for plenary sessions twice a year. The Congress has initiated several European conventions, including the European Charter of Local Self-Government.

    CLRAE consist of three committees: Monitoring Committee, Governance Committee, and Current Affairs Committee.

    Denmark is represented by five members and five substitutes, of which KL holds three seats and Danish Regions two seats

    KL is represented in the Congress. and engage in the work of safeguarding and developing local democracy for municipalities and regions.

    Members of The Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of Europe:

    • Erik Flyvholm, member of Current Affairs Committee
    • Kasper Glyngø, member of Current Affairs Committee
    • Kirstine Bille, member of Monitoring Committee


    • Line Krogh Lay, substitute for Erik Flyvholm
    • Anne Madsen, substitute for Peter Sørensen

    Here you can find the website of the Congress

    KL is a member of CEMR which is a European umbrella organization that consists of national associations of local and regional authorities from all of Europe. In total, CEMR includes 60 member associations from 47 countries and CEMR represents over 100 local and regional authorities.

    CEMR is also the European section of the international organization United Cities and Local Governments (UCLG).

    The primary task of the CEMR is to represent and safeguard the interests of the European local governments at the EU-level. Specifically, the CEMR aims to influence European legislation and initiatives through contact to the EU-Commission, the Council and the European Parliament.

    The CEMR is led by the Policy Committee, which consists of local elected representatives who participate on behalf of the member associations. In addition, the work of the CEMR is carried out by several Expert Groups that each focus on specific policy areas such as environment, energy, labour market, and digitalisation.

    Members of the CEMR Policy Committee:

    • Kirstine Bille
    • Jens Ive


    • Kasper Glyngø, substitute for Kirstine Bille
    • Kirsten Jensen, substitute for Jens

    Here you can find the website of the CEMR

    Sidst opdateret: 23. februar 2024